Review: Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer

Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer
Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

*More of a 2.5 star rating.

I didn’t honestly go into this book expecting high literature or anything, but I also didn’t expect an insipid, shallow, selfish main character whom I didn’t just dislike, I completely reviled. She disgusted me. Completely. Also, the narrator used this Valley Girl accent that was absolutely insufferable, which made all the parts with our protagonist that much harder to tolerate.

That being said, all the bits with Marie Antoinette’s ghost? Awesome. I found it morbidly entertaining whenever our murderous queen appeared on the page and carried out her various revenges — I mean, seriously, was she going to kill them in any other way besides cutting off their heads?

The romance wasn’t terrible, but it was utterly generic and without tension; and the addition of a third player for a while simply made me roll my eyes.

In a nutshell: I wish this had been more fun, but I spent most of the book wanting to punch the protagonist in the face.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

