Review: Poisonwell

Poisonwell
Poisonwell by Jeff Wheeler
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

**Thank you to 47North/Amazon Publishing via NetGalley for providing me a digital ARC of this novel for the purposes of review**

If the final installment of the Whispers from Mirrowen series shows me anything it’s this: thrilling action cannot replace dynamic characters. This has been my problem with the series from the very first novel. While I have rated this entire series a three out of five stars, that three has been tentative, based only upon Mr. Wheeler’s ability to write action sequences. The characters are the ultimate problem: they lack depth and, thus, I feel little-to-no connection to them. This makes the action all the more difficult to enjoy because if I’m not invested in the characters, why should I care if they live or die?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: characters don’t necessarily have to be likable, but they have to at the very least be interesting. I, personally, do not find these characters particularly interesting — to the point that I lose track of whom everyone is and their relationship to each other. This is coming from the person who can dictate out most of the houses of ASOIAF without a problem.

Is this book stronger than its predecessors? Yes. Absolutely. But it’s by a hair. Mr. Wheeler manages to pull out all the virtual stops on his action sequences, relentlessly juggernaut-ing his characters towards the novel’s finale. As a result, sure, there are a few surprises in the ending and I know some fans may not be entirely satisfied. I, myself, am simply pleased to be finished with the trilogy; any lingering questions I possessed were answered and that’s enough for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

