Review: Maybe Someday

Maybe Someday
Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t read romance — okay, well, correction: I very rarely read romance, often labeled as “chick-lit” or “contemporary”.

It’s just not my cup of tea. I don’t want romance as the focal point of the stories I read so, naturally, I eschew the genres of romance, erotica, new adult, et al. But, every now and again, there are books that are delightful exceptions to this rule. Even now and then, a book that is undeniably a romance shows up and I actually enjoy it.

Maybe Someday is one of those books.

Now I’d heard a great deal about Ms. Hoover over on BookTube, where she basically reigns as the New Adult contemporary queen for many a booktuber, but I’d never felt much of an impulse to read any of her work. Like I said: I don’t really do romance.

However, when I was told that this particular novel not only death with musicians/songwriters, but also featured an original soundtrack that had been commissioned by the author to accompany the novel, I found myself intrigued. I saw the ebook available at my library, shrugged and thought Oh, why not? and just brought it on over to my kindle.

What I didn’t realize is that i would get a book featuring a character the was deaf; another that was hearing impaired; a slow-burn romance; characters who respect each others; and, most importantly, consent. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I was to see that consent and boundaries played a huge part within this novel, especially in the development between the protagonists. It’s almost sad to say that it’s “refreshing”, as it’s a clear reflection of the state of the romance genre, but, well, it is refreshing.

It’s impossible to talk about this novel without mentioning the soundtrack. As I said above: it was commissioned specially for the novel by Ms. Hoover, and the soulful vocals of Griffin Peterson are a welcome addition to the lovely (if not sometimes overly repetitive) acoustic guitar that forms the backbone for most of the songs.

Long story short: I really loved this book and you can plan on me buying that soundtrack for my own. Whether or not you’re a fan of romance, New Adult, contemporary, et al., you might find this book may yet surprise you.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

