Review: The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder

The Bachelor Girl's Guide to Murder
The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder by Rachel McMillan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

**Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for providing me a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley for the purposes of review**

*3.5/5

A murder mystery set amidst Victorian-era Toronto with two leading ladies full of gumption? Sign me up!

What fun — no, really, what fun! I spent a good deal of my childhood in the city of Toronto thanks to my paternal grandparents living there, and so I took great delight in reading all the familiar streets and places to which our delightful heroines, Jem and Merinda, travel as a result of their amateur sleuthing. Speaking of Jem and Merinda: yes, they are an absolute delight. Ms. McMillan writes them with a wonderful sarcasm and dry humour that I appreciated, especially as it helps to balance out the mystery and romance of the plot.

The mystery is very good, even though I did figure it out before the novel’s players, but it was the wonderful details about Victorian Toronto that I loved best. It’s clear that Ms. McMillan has done a great deal of research in preparation for this series, which gives this novel more “life”: I can imagine these streets and people with every one of my senses and, thus, immerse myself more easily into the story.

This is the perfect book for anyone looking for a Sherlockian fix, and I know many people to whom I can recommend this novel.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

