Review: The One You Really Want

The One You Really Want
The One You Really Want by Jill Mansell
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

**Thank you so much to SOURCEBOOKS Landmark for providing me a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley for the purposes of review**

*3.5/5

Jill Mansell has a way of writing books that I enjoy: the ones with which I can just curl up on a chair and know that I’m going to smile.

And that is just what I got with The One You Really Want, which brings me older, more sensible heroines than the ones targeted at my usual age demographic (i.e. New Adult). I love these older heroines, the ones who have some life experience behind them and are often thrust into situations that, to any reader, can seem familiar: Nancy discovers her husband is cheating on her, and Carmen is a widow, still mourning the death of her own husband to a drug overdose. While I myself have never experienced either of these things, I know people who have, which means I curl myself around Nancy and Carmen protectively, ready to hope that they find happiness.

Per the usual work of Mansell, The One You Really Want is full of comedic scenarios as these two ladies get back into the dating game, but more importantly, they get back into the game of “life” — these characters have had their worlds metaphorically crumble apart. They have to decide whether or not to pick up the pieces or just walk over them and start building something else with new materials.

All in all, One what I wanted from Mansell: fun, funny, sweet, and pleased that I discovered this author’s charming works in the first place. It wasn’t my favourite, but it still made me smile.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

