Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*4.5/5

An improvement over A Court of Thorns and Roses, without question, A Court of Mist and Fury embraces the myth of Hades and Persephone, leaving Beauty & the Beast behind in the dust.

This is a much longer book, with more intrigue and politics than its predecessor as we weave our way through the fae courts and their High Lords. What’s best, however, are some of the questions of consent that were certainly raised within ACOTAR get addressed (sometimes even corrected) in ACOMAF. Thank you. It’s not perfect, but it’s so much better. There’s a lot to love and plenty to critique…if you felt like it.

If I felt like being brutal and purely objective, I could critique the living day lights out of this book and tell you all the things that make it problematic or unworthy of such a high rating. But, kind of like I said in my review of Cassandra Clare’s Lady Midnight: I’ve drunk the cool-aid of Maas’ writing so just gimme more. All day, e’rry day.

Though I will say this: I’m astounded this is still being shelved in Young Adult within the bookstore because…guys it goes from zero to graphic smut in like 0.68 seconds. (I’m exaggerating the speed, but not the graphic-nature of it.) Seriously, this is NSFW in any respect and I can’t help but think the audience for this book is anybody who can get into an R-rated film without a parent — i.e. 18+ years. I, personally, don’t have a problem with it, and was actually pleased to see that, once again, Maas has written a sexually-active heroine who takes multiple partners throughout the course of her series-long narrative. Yes, this means many ships are born and die over the course of many books, but I think it works here in this series.

I feel like this series is my guilty pleasure: one of those things I objectively see for the flawed creature that it is, but I enjoy reading all the same.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

