Review: Ghostly Echoes

Ghostly Echoes
Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

**Thank you to Algonquin Young Readers for providing me a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley for the purposes of review**

I remember picking up Jackaby on a whim several years ago. I’d never heard of the author, never heard anything about the book itself, but dang did it have a visually interesting cover. And, after tearing through it in about an hour, I thought it was quite a fun, oddly charming story.

The same could be said about its sequel, Beastly Bones, though I don’t think it quite lived up to its predecessor. Ghostly Echoes, however, truly does. There is still the pervasive undercurrent of darkness that weaves its way through these ever-charming books, but it feels more personal this time. Our characters are inextricably linked to the crime(s) in question, and I think it helps to invest one in the story more than Bones.

She slid through the demolished wall. “My turn.”

If you’re already reading these books, then Echoes will not disappoint; if you haven’t started reading yet, then I encourage you to do so, because they are a quick trip through time for a fun, supernatural mystery.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

