Review: Pierce Brown’s Red Rising: Son Of Ares #1

 

Pierce Brown's Red Rising: Son Of Ares #1
Pierce Brown’s Red Rising: Son Of Ares #1 by Pierce Brown

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

BloodyDAMN.

I’ll be honest and say that I don’t normally read comics, not even when they tie-in to franchises/novels that I love. But, for this I made a major exception. How can I resist something that promises to tell me the story of Fitchner au Barca?

I can’t. I really, really can’t.

And what a brilliant start. It’s violent, it’s bloody, it’s wonderfully illustrated. I particularly like little details such as speech bubbles for characters reflecting their Colour; it’s a small thing, but (a) makes the dialogue a lot easier to follow and (b) just shows the level of care and attention to detail of the creative team.

The only problem now is that I suddenly understand how comic fans feel in getting brief little bites of great storytelling and then needing to wait, ravenous, for the next one.

break the chains

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

